You are here:

Police Chief

Chief James Bumar
Chief James Bumar
Chief of Police
901 Jefferson St.
Latrobe, PA 15650
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



The Police Department under the leadership of Chief Bumar. He serves and protects the citizens of the City of Latrobe with pride and professionalism. 

The Department polices an area of 2.3 miles with 6 patrol zones. 

The city has several residential areas, business and industry, a hospital, multiple schools, a downtown business area, and multiple senior citizen high rise apartments.  It also hosts a number of outdoor recreational facilities which draws many out of town participants and guests. 

With a population of 8,900 residents, the Police Department currently employs a Chief of Police, 2 Sergeants and 9 Patrol Officers.  The Department utilizes 3 patrol vehicles 1 unmarked vehicle, an off road quad, and three Police bicycles.  The department has 24 hour coverage, 7 days a week.


Law and order was maintained in early Latrobe by a series of High Constables.  Daniel McCarty was hired in 1881 as Latrobe's first Chief of Police.  McCarty received payment of $30.00 per month for his services.  The following time line shows the Police Chiefs from McCarty to present day, along with some significant events during their time of service:

1881-1883  Daniel McCarty (Received a fractured skull while making an arrest)
1883-1887  Samuel Moore
1887-1887  Benjamin Hackett
1887-1899  David Cannon
1899-1907  James Sterling  (First Chief elected by council)
1907-1909  Leasure Moore  (Police force consisted of 2 Officers and 6 Patrolman)
1909-1911  Charles Butz
1911-1915  Frank Ondriezek
1915-1922  Joseph Stahl
1922-1924  Michael Early
1924-1932  John McHugh  (Call Boxes and Traffic Signals installed)
1932-1941  George Brubaker  (Parking Meters installed)
1941-1951  Charles Hough (Formal Police Training implemented, Police pension established, Police become governed under Civil Service, Fraternal Order of Police Lodge #23 Established)
1951-1952  Frank Asbee  (*Acting Chief)
1952-1968  Chester College  (Police force consisted of Chief 2 Lieutenants. 9 Patrolman and a modern police vehicle with 2 way radio)
1968-1986  Francis Plyler
1986-1996  John Smetanka
1996-2010  Charles Huska
2010-Current James Bumar

City of Latrobe • P: 724-539-8548 • Mailing Address: P.O. Box 829, Latrobe, PA  15650 • Physical Address: 901 Jefferson St., Latrobe, PA  15650